It’s way past my bedtime, but here I lay thinking about the events of the day. It’s January 20, 2017 (well technically that ended 1 hour and 23 minutes ago but whatever) and today President Trump was inaugurated.

Some people read that statement and a warm, joyful feeling swells into their heart, others feel hatred and anger for the man. But like any other election, the best candidate won. Or shall I say the candidate that got the most electoral votes won, as they so often do. But how could he be our president, how could God forsake us like this?

Truth is . . . He hasn’t.

Deuteronomy 29: 10 – 13 says, “10 All of you are standing today in the presence of the Lord your God—your leaders and chief men, your elders and officials, and all the other men of Israel, 11 together with your children and your wives, and the foreigners living in your camps who chop your wood and carry your water. 12 You are standing here in order to enter into a covenant with the Lord your God, a covenant the Lord is making with you this day and sealing with an oath, 13 to confirm you this day as his people, that he may be your God as he promised you and as he swore to your fathers, Abraham, Isaac and Jacob.”

We are standing here, divided. Yet we all live on the same chunk of tectonic plates. As Christians, I believe it is our duty to lead the nation and the world and this administration and every administration to Christ.

I, very surprisingly I know, can’t vote. I’m fourteen. But I can still lead the nation back to Christ. I can help, we can help, lead the nation back to the covenant with the Lord our God.

At the same time, we must hold close to our hearts the truth of the Word of God.

the   Word   offends

Yes, the Bible will be and has been offending to other people, but that does not mean we should be quiet. I urge you, keep the God of all nations close to your heart. We all have our beliefs, and this country is divided in our beliefs.

But as Christians, our beliefs need to align with God’s Word.

We can’t bring the nation back to Christ by just voting. I can’t do that! We have to campaign the Word of God all the time. That’s the only way we can make a covenant with the Lord.

Every Christian didn’t vote for President Trump, every Christian didn’t vote for Mrs. Clinton, this Christian didn’t vote. That doesn’t mean we can’t unite and rise stronger from this day. Let’s take a stand, let’s get crazy.

What would we say to the world if we said, “We don’t agree with everything President Trump stands for, but we will respect him, pray for him, and support him in running our country to the best of our ability.”

I’ll be honest. I wore a Trump shirt today to school. Not because I hate everything Mrs. Clinton or Former President Obama stands for, not because I like everything Trump stands for, and obviously not because I voted for either one. I wore it in support, because…

TRUMP IS MY PRESIDENT.

I don’t have to like or agree with anything or everything he says or does. I’m an American citizen, this is a democracy, we’ve never agreed on everything. But I don’t want to see him fail, because I’ll see my country fail, the country that I will probably live on for my life.

So will you stand with me? Let’s support Trump, but continuing to stand for everything we specifically believe in as Christians. Supporting and agreeing can be two different things. Let’s commit to campaigning toward a new covenant with the Lord.

But the question, “Will you stand with me?”

 

(Awesome picture from CNN http://i2.cdn.cnn.com/cnnnext/dam/assets/130121123502-inauguration-wide-exlarge-169.jpg)

